Thursday, May 19, 2011

List of Hugo/Nebula award winners

The Nebula Award is a prestigious award awarded by the Science Fiction and Fantasy Writers of America annually for books published the previous year. Books are voted by the membership of SFWA. (Science-Fiction and Fantasy Writers of America)

  DISCLAIMER: Opinions expressed are the author's and might not be held, or agreed to by the opinion of the League.

2010 Paolo Bacigalupi The Windup Girl
2009 Ursula K. Le Guin Powers
2008 Michael Chabon The Yiddish Policemen's Union
2007 Jack McDevitt Seeker
2006 Joe Haldeman Camouflage
2005 Lois McMaster Bujold Paladin of Souls
2004 Elizabeth Moon The Speed of Dark
2003 Neil Gaiman American Gods
2002 Catherine Asaro The Quantum Rose
2001 Greg Bear Darwin's Radio
2000 Octavia E. Butler Parable of the Talents
1999 Joe Haldeman Forever Peace
1998 Vonda N. McIntyre The Moon and the Sun
1997 Nicola Griffith Slow River
1996 Robert J. Sawyer The Terminal Experiment
1995 Greg Bear Moving Mars
1994 Kim Stanley Robinson Red Mars
1993 Connie Willis Doomsday Book
1992 Michael Swanwick Stations of the Tide
1991 Ursula K. Le Guin Tehanu (A bit of an odd book for the Earth-sea Trilogy-KK)
1990 Elizabeth Ann Scarborough The Healer's War
1989 Lois McMaster Bujold Falling Free
1988 Pat Murphy The Falling Woman
1987 Orson Scott Card Speaker for the Dead
1986 Orson Scott Card Ender's Game (Absolutely amazing and powerful book-KK)
1985 William Gibson Neuromancer
1984 David Brin Startide Rising
1983 Michael Bishop No Enemy But Time
1982 Gene Wolfe The Claw of the Conciliator
1981 Gregory Benford Timescape
1980 Arthur C. Clarke The Fountains of Paradise
1979 Vonda N. McIntyre Dreamsnake
1978 Frederik Pohl Gateway
1977 Frederik Pohl Man Plus
1976 Joe Haldeman The Forever War
1975 Ursula K. Le Guin The Dispossessed
1974 Arthur C. Clarke Rendezvous with Rama
1973 Isaac Asimov The Gods Themselves
1972 Robert Silverberg A Time of Changes
1971 Larry Niven Ringworld
1970 Ursula K. Le Guin The Left Hand of Darkness
1969 Alexei Panshin Rite of Passage
1968 Samuel R. Delany The Einstein Intersection
1967 Daniel Keyes Flowers for Algernon
1967 Samuel R. Delany Babel-17
1966 Frank Herbert Dune

A final note: You might read this and say that SF and Fantasy (Nebula awards cover both) genres might be evil and be scorned and avoided, but that's a bit short-sighted. Think of them like Jericho, just waiting for a turn-around.-KK

1 comment:

Varon said...

This is just a list of the Nebula Winners, a list of Hugo winners is almost finished.